Australia announces ODI squad


The Australian Cricket Board has announced a 14 man squad for the five match ODI series against Pakistan starting from 13th January. Australia has dropped Geroge Bailey and Aaron Finch due to poor form in the ODI series against New Zealand.

Usman Khawaja, Billy Stankle and Chris Lynn have been included in the squad. Chris Lynn has shown excellent form in the ongoing Big Bash League tournament scoring 309 runs in five matches with a strike rate of 177.59. His ability to hit sixes at ease has forced selectors to include them into ODI squad.

“This is an extremely important series for us as, following it in a ODI context, we have the Chappell-Hadlee Series in New Zealand and then, in mid-year, the ICC Champions Trophy, a tournament which we won in 2006 and 2009,” said Interim National Selector Trevor Hohns.

“We believe this squad is an exciting combination that covers all bases for us over the course of the five matches against Pakistan.

Australia whitewashed New Zealand three-nil in the Chappell – Hadlee Trophy held in December 2016. The team will be captained by Steve Smith who has been excellent with the bat in 50 overs format against New Zealand.

The team comprises of good all rounders which include James Faulkner, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Marsh, who can change the course of the game with their batting. The bowling attack looks solid with Mitchell Starc, Hazlewood, Adam Zampa and Mitchell Marsh. Australia will be high on confidence after winning the previous ODI series against New Zealand.

The first ODI of the five-match series starts on January 13th at Brisbane.

Australia ODI squad: Steve Smith (c), David Warner (vc), Pat Cummins, James Faulkner, Travis Head, Josh Hazlewood, Usman Khawaja, Chris Lynn, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Billy Stanlake, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa




Previous article3rd test 5th day: Australia beat Pakistan to clean sweep series
Next articleRishabh Pant hopes to learn from MS Dhoni
I am pavan Suresh a student of Mass comm. I want to become a cricket writer and would love to become a cricket writer.