In another virtual quarter-final in the Group B; Sri Lanka and Pakistan are fighting out for a place in the semis. This game is currently in play at Sophia Gardens in Cardiff. This game witnessed a bizarre review by Pakistani captain Sarfraz Ahmed after spilling the catch. Pakistan bundled out Sri Lanka for 236 in less than 50 overs.

Sarfraz-review-bizarre

Pakistani fielding and bowling seemed impressive as they have shown improvements from their first game. Sarfraz’s side kept things in control after clinical spells from Amir and Junaid who shared 5 wickets. Pakistan is looking to join England, Bangladesh and India in the semi-finals.

Oh, my Sarfraz!!

The incident took place on the second last ball of 34th over. Amir found Asela Gunaratne’s edge which seemed to be taken by captain Sarfraz in the first attempt diving to his right.

However, Sarfraz wasted no time in asking for the review after on-field umpire Marais Erasmus gave not out. Then the umpires went upstairs to check whether it is out or not out.

Much to the disarray of Sarfraz and whole Pakistan team, the ball popped out of captain’s gloves. The ball popped out after his elbow hit the turf. Sarfraz collected it after it touched the grass.

https://twitter.com/lKR1088/status/874246225742188544

The right-hander who is known for his blistering strokeplay was trying to cut the ball only to found the edge of his bat. And Sarfraz made a complete mess of it after taking a brilliant one of Niroshan Dickwella.

At the time of drop catch, Sri Lanka was struggling at 165 for six in a period where they lost four wickets for six runs. They were 161/3 at one stage and a mini collapse took them to 167 for 7 in the next few overs.

Coming to the conclusion, even knowing he didn’t complete a clean catch and still went for a review after trying to collect the ball in his second attempt.

Comments

comments